LOFAR in Europe

International partners and stations of the Low Frequency Array

LOFAR is operated as a fully international facility, to which end the International LOFAR Telescope has been formed. It is a Foundation under Dutch law, and has board members from LOFAR consortia in each of the countries where LOFAR stations are located. The telescope consists of 38 Stations in the Netherlands, six in Germany, three in Poland, and one in France, Ireland, Sweden and the UK. 2019 a new station was  inaugurated in Latvia. An additional station will be build Italy. The data taken by the stations are transported by dark fiber to the central processing unit, which is hosted at the University of Groningen.


Partners of the International LOFAR Telescope